Helpful Design Book

 

“The Non-Designer’s Design Book” (Third Edition) by ROBIN WILLIAMS is a design book I bought for a course this semester that ended up being SUPER helpful so I thought I’d share.  Williams has a really straightforward sense of humor so it’s also a fun read 🙂

Here’s what’s covered in the book:

  • the CRAP design principles
  • tips for using color in design
  • a section on branding packages, so like business cards, letterhead, envelope, flyer, newsletters, brochures, etc.
  • designing with type, including a really helpful section on the different categories of type as well as how to effectively contrast type

 

What I like best about it is that she provides multiple good AND bad examples of just about every piece of design advice she gives.  Visualizing what she’s talking about makes it really easy to apply what you’re learning along the way.  She also lists the typefaces used in each of the example designs which  is A GIANT TIME SAVER.  There are short ‘quizzes’ at the end of each section – I like to think of them as worksheets, but they’re easy and they’re helpful.  I would definitely recommend this book to anybody who isn’t necessarily in the design profession because it really makes a difference – the way the book is designed makes it really easy to follow and apply to whatever work you’re doing.

2 thoughts on “Helpful Design Book

  1. Hey there I am so happy I found your website, I really found you by error, while I was researching on
    Yahoo for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a fantastic
    post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

    • Wow! Thank you so much 🙂 I’m glad you’re enjoying what you’re reading on this blog and I’ll make sure I keep up with my posts so you can find more useful content! Anything in particular that you’d like to hear/hear more about?!

      -Tia 🙂

Leave a comment